Discontinued Beauty Items

We have all been there, that lip color we couldn’t live with out, all of a sudden its gone or discontinued. Heart breaking I know! This post is dedicated to the few products I am sad got discontinued or were never re-promoted.

MAC Balloonacy Pigment in Helium

494dcaa693503_92243n

The description for the pigment is Light pink with red duochrome. I first saw this with a friend back when they first opened up Nordstrom’s in San Antonio. I was familiar with MAC but not really into the swing of collections and the fact that they were limited editions and such. Well she bought this pigment and to this day I regret not buying one. I’m not too into pigment but the color was so pretty and the duo chrome was pretty amazing because you would catch the colors from different angles.  She said she used the hell out of it and she still had a lot of product left. This is one of the biggest items I wish I had purchased…

Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss (Color Unknown)

WP_20130921_011

My poor old lip gloss, its way past its expiration date but I don’t want to get rid of it 😦

Yes, the damn color is unknown…freaking Victoria’s Secret and their lame labeling. Back in the day they had the name of the color on the part that you throw away. For years I have kept this lip gloss tube in hopes that I will find it somewhere. I can’t find it anywhere. I will show a pic. It looks like Juiced Berry but the smell is what makes it different its like a chocolately or baked goods kind of smell, I could have sworn it was oatmeal something but alas, I have no idea and this is pretty much depressing.

Neutrogena’s Lip Nutrition in Berry

img-thing

This back when I was in middle school was the it balm! it smelled just like cherries. it was definitely a staple in any ones purse or back pack. every now and then I look to see if its still marketed because I thought they were so popular but I can never find it. again, sigh.

So those are pretty much my saddest ones. Now most people will pose the question “well why don’t you look for it on ebay?”. the truth of the matter is that I don’t want to resort to that because I am so afraid I will get a knock off product. I have had an EBAY makeup fail before.

Storytime: So one of my co workers wore this beautiful blush it was almost like iridescent and had flecks of pinks and purples. I loved it on her and I asked her what it was called and we found it on Ebay. Its from a Target Brand, Pixie and they had the exact one she had for a good price. Well I bought it up and when I got it in the mail I immediately opened it , so excited to try it. Well to my disappointment, I couldn’t tell I was even wearing it, it was chalky and no color pay off. Now I swatched hers and you could see it, when I swatched mine I got nothing. I was so sad. The other issue could have been that her skin tone was cool and not warm like mine so maybe those colors didn’t work well with me. Anyway I felt like I wasted my money. So no I don’t want to risk the same thing. I guess all I can do is sulk haha.

Has anyone else had a product that they loved, only to find out they discontinued it or it was limited edition that you wished was brought back? Let me know!

Until next time!

September Haul

WP_20130921_001

 

So I didn’t get too much stuff, mainly trying out new products and finishes to see how I like them. Let’s get into it shall we?

Lets start with eyes: I purchased MAC’s Veluxe Brow Liner in Deep Brunette ($17)

 

WP_20130921_003

I liked how the pencil is very smooth and really you need a light hand when applying, it also has a nifty brow brush on the other end so you can blend it out. I gotta say I like this product. I was using MAC’s Omega eyeshadow for filling in my brows but I needed something that would last longer than just powder. I am fortunate that my brows are thick and need minimal makeup to make them pop. I didn’t always feel that way though, I would see a lot of friends with REALLY DONE UP brows and I wanted that look too. But you gotta know what you have and how to work it in order to be satisfied with just enhancing your natural brows.

Next up is face: I bought Real TECHniques Expert Face Brush from ULTA ($7.99) and my first time ever MAC Studio Fix ($26)

WP_20130921_010

 

WP_20130921_005

 

WP_20130921_004

 

I have purchased a three brush set from Real TECHniques before and I have been loving them, they are a step up from E.L.F. Studio Brushes (which are still a steal and worth buying if you’re in a money bind) but they aren’t overly expensive. This brush is dense and has duo fibre bristles which really helps to blend out harsh blush or contouring. I have been using it in The Balm’s Hot Mama! and that has been my go-to blush combo for this month. Now I am normally a MAC girl when it comes to face makeup, other drugstore brands just don’t do it for me, also I noticed I was really breaking out with some of them, so even when I try to get away, MAC pulls you back in lol. So I always used Studio Fix Fluid and a Naturalize Skin Finish powder to set my look. Well recently I went to my local MAC shop with my good friend who was a MAC VIRGIN (OMMYGERD). So we spent a good time in the store looking at face makeup and the MUA used it on her and I could instantly tell the coverage was great and it looked like she had used a cream foundation and powder but really she just used the Studio Fix, I was convinced. My friend bought one and so did I. So far I like it because it helps to take away that extra step without me feeling like that my face is not complete (did that make sense??) I feel like I have both my foundation and powder done with one swoop (ok several swoops).

Last but certainly not least, lips: MAC Dubonnet ($15), MAC Ruby Woo ($15), L’Oreal Color Riche Le Matte Matte for Me ($7.99) L’Oreal Color Riche La Laque in I laque you a lot and Laque-onic all from Target ($7.99 each)

WP_20130921_002

Dubonnet, Ruby Woo, I laque you a lot, Matte for me, and Laque-onic

 

Again when I was with my friend at the MAC store I had brought in products for BACK to MAC (this might be a whole other blog post right herr) so I was eligible for a free lipstick, eyeshadow, or lipglass. I love lipglass but I was looking for a new red for the fall season. I found it with the Amplified Cream Lipstick Dubonnet. What I truly love about MAC is not only do they have the color options for every person on the planet (which are mostly highly pigmented and true to color) but they have different finishes to their lip sticks. Pay attention kids cause this is important: the look and feel of your lipstick will depend on the finish it has. Ergo, you may love the color but not the feel of the lipstick, you may love the feel but not the color (which is kind of impossible because as mentioned earlier, your color will be there!).  Amplified Cream is just that, it gives true to color pay off, is rich and smooth hence the cream. The next one I purchased ( and I hate myself for waiting so long) is Retro Matte Ruby Woo. Again the name says it all, it is a matte finish, which is typically harder to work with and will give your lips a dryer feel. I personally like it on days where I don’t want cream, shine, or gloss, but more of a lip stain. Ruby Woo will do just that. It is one of their best sellers and for good reason, it is a cooler toned red color that compliments many skin tones. The next ones I actually purchased because of a Youtuber named Lollydolly128. She had gorgeous colors and just by the video I knew that these lippies will be high quality color and will be highly pigmented. A little goes along way with these lip colors. She mentioned they were limited edition so “go to the store like right now”. I didn’t do exactly that but I regret not really listening to her. I purchased one first, another thing they were only sold exclusively for Target, I don’t know why but I love Target anyways so it was a win-win.  I purchased I Laque you a lot, and I loved it, the color, the feel, the price. Only downside is that it has that L’Oreal smell that I’m not fond of, to me it smells like old lady with rose perfume or something, anyway I can live it with for the sake of wearing these products. I bought two Laque’s and one Matte, same idea here as the MAC lip colors, depending on the finish will depend on how it will look and feel on your lips. Laques are high shine a bit more sticky but not gloss sticky, the color stays for a bit with normal wear. The good thing about them is that they don’t just like slide off or they are super slick. The matte shade is more smooth, the pencil is more pliable, and all of them need a soft hand when applying, The color feels so velvety on the lips and it also has some staying power. Now these colors are not for the timid, these are bold red colors that will give you attention.

e1d9d836-5cf7-430b-bbd1-1447b8281609_jpeg8c394b78-2977-45a6-80f3-aa895631b6b9_jpeg

I Laque You A lot                                                               Matte for Me

I didn’t think I was honestly going to buy 5 lip products but when it gets good, its really good. Personally lip and eye shadow colors should be the most purchased things because of the ranges of colors and finishes. I hope some of you read through the whole thing, if not hey at least you saw some pics right?

Until next time!

Inzomnia insomnia

So its 3:15 am. And I am WIDE AWAKE. I hate this seriously…i was so tired after a fun filled and crazy Friday at work, then got home, chilled with Jared and by 10:30 this old bitch gets under the covers. Normally I need to read my nook or watch YouTube vids of my fave beauty gurus then I’m good. Nope, not this time. This time I just rolled over n drifted away fast. Now this shit happens. I was tossin n turnin and I couldn’t bare it I had to wake. Which lead me here…i needed to do something silent while laying in bed. Yay to WordPress App!! And I honestly am beyond mad because I love sleep. Sleepy time and naps are very important in my old age… So the fact that my body is keeping me from doing that bothers me.
I also decided that I would follow up with one of the first bloggers I followed, Lindsey aka The Bargain Blonde. Her life to me is amaze! She’s from Texas (which just by knowing that you know she’s awesome) living and working in Vegas ( also freaking incredible) and she is just down to earth and loves life, and is into the things I’m into. Well I was sad to see only two new blogs on her page from like several months ago. I was like ” what happened??”.. She got busy, as do many of (us) bloggers get. Shit its hard for me to keep up with it and I just started. However I turned my frown upside down when I realized I didn’t have her followed on instagram! Yay to bloggers who also tweet/Facebook/instagram/vine. You gotta check her out @thebargainblonde on instagram…also read her blogs. So yea inzomnia cuz I feel like a zombie! Plus I think it was a cool play on words which its not really a word but you get my drift. I need to post about all my fav makeup damnit!! Perhaps I shall do a haul blog….also reading Orange is the new Black so I gotta do a review. Hmm there’s just a ton of blogs to do just not enough time, unless you’re like me and can’t sleep. Ok, I think I’m done!

Until next time!!!