Movie Review: The Purge

So I'm so sorry I haven't posted in a bit, this rata is busy!

Me, my man, and the bestie went to see the new thriller The Purge. When I first saw the trailer for the movie, I was really nervous to see the film. Ok this is where I'm letting it all out. Do not keep reading unless you're like me and like spoilers.

The idea behind the movie is that the purge is a a 12 hour period where all crime is legal for American citizens. They can steal,vandalize, rape, and even kill for 12 hours without any repercussion. There is no emergency assistance throughout that time. The movie emphasized the notion that having the purge helps Americans take out their natural aggression and that purging is a way to help cleanse. The other less positive idea is that although all crime is legal, citizens can protect themselves by means of security systems. So basically those who have the money will protect themselves and those that aren't are left to fend for themselves.

Ok first thing, the idea of having a 12 hour free for all is a very scary idea. It also upholds the notion that people are inherently evil. It touches a subject that everyone has an opinion on but people rarely talk about. Personally I believe that people are born good. I think that's the reason why I was so bothered with the idea. I was dreading the movie to be honest because I thought every single character was going to be ruthless. I was glad to have been proven wrong. I guess I'm a sucker for a happy ending...if you can call what we saw at the end happy...

Of course to my relief the movie was more of a thriller than anything. They did show people getting killed in a realistic way but it was still a brutal scene. You know when the gore is non stop and you feel like desensitized...kill bill anyone? Yea it wasn't that way. The movie focuses on a wealthy family and how their 12 hours play out. Typical family of four, nothing too out of the ordinary. Oh except they live in the good safe part of town and they have a high tech system. Funny thing is in the first 30 mins of the movie someone already infiltrates the home. The movie lost its credibility there. Of course me and my friend were clutching each other the whole time! The movie left alot of things unexplained. The more you think about it the more you wished the storyline was better.

Overall its a good thriller to watch at home, in the dark while its raining...otherwise not really worth the price of ticket, popcorn and soda that you buy at the theater. Go to the dollar tree and buy your goodies there,and redbox it!!

One thought on “Movie Review: The Purge

Leave a Reply

